Beki's Blog

My life and the journey to self-awareness

Entering the blogging world

Well, here I am, entering the blogging world.  I’ve been wanting to do this for some time, but struggle with why should I do it, who would want to read my blog, and what am I writing about?

I do enjoy writing, and someday would love to write a book.  I just need to dream up the idea!  (Looking for inspiration not unlike that experienced by Stephanie Meyer!)

I will use this first blog entry to introduce myself and expose my current struggles.  Perhaps this blog will be a sort of publicized diary of my struggles to better myself, or the struggles associated with going through law school with a family.

My name is Beki.  I had my first child 2 months after graduating from high school.  She’s 18 and doesn’t speak to me now.  I am also estranged from my father and step mom.  It’s difficult coming from a completely judgemental family.  I have a 5 year old son, who is amazing, strong willed and so intelligent that it is scary at times!  I am in a relationship with a man that until I met him, never even dreamed could exist. 

I started law school back in 2006.  In 2008, due to the complete withdrawal of student loan programs from the law school I was attending (and the fact that I was at the time, the sole provider for my son), I was forced to take a leave of absence and find a full time job.  The funny thing was that in my mind, it was not going to be a leave of absence, but an end of my opportunity to go to law school.  As a single mom, who needed to support her son, I could think of no possible way to get back.  So I worked full time.  In August 2009 I lost my job due to relocation.  Out of the blue, an angel offered me a full scholarship to complete my law school degree!  So I’m back in school!  Now my boyfriend and I are struggling financially to make ends meet while I go to school and attempt to find a part time job, but our relationship is solid and we are helping eachother through it! 

That’s a little about me and my current situation.  I’m hoping that blogging will increase my writing skills, help me vent and release anxiety and stress and maybe show me ways to make myself a better person (physcially and emotionally)!

October 14, 2009 - Posted by | Law School, Me, Relationships, Single Mom, Weight Loss | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Hi

    I just wanted to say that I found your post very inspiring as it is easy for us to get trapped in our own little bubbles of struggles.

    I have always found that relationships within families are perhaps one of the most strenuous as family expectations often outstrip the reality even if it is no fault of the person we expect things from.

    That said I always state that there is hope and if you leave a door open for a person back into your life they will often return – it just takes them time to mature and come to terms with things.

    I think your return to education is a fantastic step and will definately reward you later on.

    Also writing certainly helps you develop and vent in a safe environment.

    Take Care
    Matthew

    Comment by sherav | October 14, 2009 | Reply

    • It is certainly possible to turn adversity into something positive. I strongly recommend writing as a way towards inner peace as well as direction. Good luck.

      Comment by newlawmom | October 15, 2009 | Reply

  2. Another great post.
    Thank you for the information, Its good to see such quality posts.
    Im subscribing to your blog.
    Keep them comming.

    [url=http://www.rain-clouds.com]Classified Placing Tool[/url]

    Comment by Software | November 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

