Beki's Blog

My life and the journey to self-awareness

Triathlon Training – The Journey Begins

At the beginning of November I decided I needed to lose 30 pounds and get back to my goal weight of 125 pounds. As of today, I’ve lost 10.4 lbs. I’m happy that I’ve lost weight, but need to really focus, because I can do better than 10 pounds in 2 months! Since about 2006, I’ve known I wanted to complete a triathlon, however I thought I would need to train for years before even considering entering one. I learned about what’s called a Sprint Triathlon – it’s ½ mile swim, 13 mile bike and a 4 mile run! I can TOTALLY do that! I purchased “Triathlon Training for Dummies” and they have a 24 week training program for a ½ Ironman (1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike and 13.1 mile run). I found a local triathlon called the Vineman Ironman and it can be done ½! It’s in July – that’s 30 weeks away! So, now I’ve started a 30 week program (I modified the 24 week program into 30 weeks).

Week #1 started on 12/21/09. I completed all but 2 training tasks. I did 2 of the 3 days of swimming (which of course is where I need the most work) and I did 3 of the 4 runs. I felt good all week and was motivated. It was week one after all! Saturday I was supposed to swim and complete a 10 mile bike ride. I got a bike for Christmas from my amazingly terrific boyfriend, so we went on an 11.5 mile bike ride! This was a very big deal for me, as I have not been on a bicycle in about 20 years! I’ve been riding the bike at the gym, but had not ridden a real bicycle since I was in my teens! I wasn’t very fast (average pace was 11.91 mph), but I still impressed Daniel! (who is much more experienced on bikes.) Sunday, the last day of week one, I was lazy. I didn’t get off the couch and I ate total crap. It was not a nutritionally good day at all.

Week #2 – Monday is supposed to be a rest day, however, I decided that since I rested (overindulged and was lazy) on Sunday, that I would work out on my elliptical. I did 45 minutes (9 miles) on my elliptical. Tuesday, Daniel brought home a treadmill that he found for free on Craigslist. I am not a huge fan of running on a treadmill for more than a couple miles, but it was raining outside, so I ran 3 miles on the treadmill. Wednesdays are my mini triathlon days – my program calls for swimming, biking and running. I really didn’t want to go workout, but once I was at the gym and in the pool, I felt GREAT! I was swimming 10 laps last week and this week I’ve increased to 12 laps! Today is day 4 of my 2nd week of training. I’m going to swim again and then do 6.5 miles on the bike at the gym. Tomorrow, I’m running a 5K (Resolution Run). I’m also looking forward to another 10 or so mile bike ride with Daniel (weather permitting of course) on Saturday and then a 4 mile run on Sunday.

The most difficult portion of the triathlon for me will be the swimming. I have zero technique. I can’t even put my face in the water. I’m building stamina – but need to improve technique! That’s the goal. I’ve been doing research, but any advice is welcomed! Yesterday I used the Ironman watch that Santa got me for my swimming. I averaged 1 minute 33 seconds per lap in the pool. I’ve been using Runkeeper to track my workouts too. It tracks so much more than just running! I love how Runkeeper can be set up to auto-post my activities to Facebook and Twitter. I’m completely into the social media (I’m blogging too as you can see, which is also auto-posted to Twitter).

Additionally, I need to incorporate 2 days of strength training into my workouts.

I am going to try and post at the end of each training week how it’s going and how I’ve felt during the week. At the end of each month I will post some of my stats – I’ll call it public accountability!

12/31/09:

Weight: 147.4

Body Fat: 32.37% (http://bmicalculatorforfemales.com/default.aspx)

Waist: 32 inches

Hips: 40 inches

Upper Thigh: 24.5 inches

Resting Heart Rate = 57

Next month I should see a marked improvement in my measurements, as I will be on Week 6 of my tri training program! I have also set a goal to lose 10 pounds by 1/31/10!

December 31, 2009 - Posted by | Me, triathlon, Weight Loss | , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Good luck. I started training for sprint triathlon in September. I have lost 25 lbs. I am also blogging about my experience. I think that you will find it helpful and motivating to write about your journey. I might suggest that you find a training group. I did about 2 months into my training and it has helped a lot. Check out http://www.meetup.com to find others in your area. I also benefited from Eric Harr’s book – Training for triathlon in 4 hours a week. Great training plan and diet. Anyway – good luck – I look forward to reading about your progress. My blog is http://www.newtriathlete.wordpress.com

    Good luck and enjoy the ride!

    Comment by newtriathlete | January 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

