Beki's Blog

My life and the journey to self-awareness

Triathlon Training – Week 4 Recap

Week #4

1/11/10 – Day 1: Today was a MUCH deserved day of rest! After the beating that my body took in our practice sprint tri yesterday, I’m sore and tired. I’m not as sore as I would have thought, but I’m most definitely tired!

1/12/10 – Day 2: Scheduled exercise today was a 2.75 mile run. It is raining outside, so I ran on the treadmill. I do NOT like running indoors. Ugh. I ran (and walked a couple of times) for 3.46 miles (45:05 minutes). I don’t know why I have a block when it comes to running on a treadmill. My heart rate was within the range I’ve been using when running outside. It just feels like torture on the treadmill. I’m so happy I live in California because there are not going to be that many days where I am relegated to running on a treadmill vs. outside. Bottom line is that I did it. Yay me!

1/13/10 – Day 3: I so did not want to work out today. I was a good triathlete in training last night and packed a bag to take to the gym. Wednesdays are my busy busy day of the week. I work in the morning, head straight to the gym and then have to go straight to school. I ended up getting off work a bit early and headed immediately to the gym. I really, really didn’t want to go in. My motivation this week is low. I did my .5 mile swim (23:41) and then hopped on the bike. I was scheduled to ride 4 miles, but got distracted by reading twitter updates and I ended up going for 5.5 miles (19:29). I did the random hill program, like I normally do on the bike at the gym, however instead of level 10 today I did level 7. Then the thought of running 1.5 miles on a treadmill, per my training schedule for today, just was completely and wholly unappealing. I decided to do 15 minutes on the stair mill instead (.79 miles). Hopefully it won’t be raining Friday or Sunday (my next 2 days of running) and I can run outside and make up the running mileage that I missed today. Also, I’m hoping my motivation returns. If not tomorrow, then very soon!

1/14/10 – Day 4: My morning started out ROUGH! Thursday’s is my weigh in morning and I lost a *bleeping* .2 pounds. Seriously? I was so upset. I spent part of the morning feeling sorry for myself. After I was done with my pity party, I decided to find out what is really the issue. I found out that most likely, Weight Watchers isn’t geared to people who are training for an athletic event, like a triathlon. I’m going to switch to counting calories using Daily Burn this week and see if there is any difference. At one point I’d even contemplated taking a day off from my training because I was so upset. Then I went to let Bodega (our puppy) outside and it was beautiful out! I looked at weatherchannel.com and saw that it would be about 60 degrees at 3pm. I was scheduled to swim and ride the bike today – but decided to go for a run outside instead. It is supposed to rain for the next week and I wanted to make sure I got a good long run in outside before the rain comes! I’ve been doing great with the 4 mile run, so I decided it increase to 5 miles. I found a route and off I went! I ran 5.38 miles (1:00:26). I felt great when I got home! This weekend, I am going to re-vamp my training schedule to make one day each week with BRICK training (Bike to run) and two days with strength training. I am going to TRY and not worry so much about losing weight. I am not confident I can do that, but I’m going to try! I need to remain confident that the weight will come off.

1/15/10 – Day 5: I completely did nothing today. I didn’t track calories or workout. I went to work, got Carl’s Jr. for lunch (I know, I know) and then played on Facebook and got my paperwork together for my taxes. I will do something tomorrow. Maybe. LOL I’m feeling really burnt out. Plus the idea that it will be dumping rain for the next 9 days isn’t helping me feel motivated. I need to re-work my training program. I don’t want to miss too many workouts, but I might need another day to regroup…

1/16/10 – Day 6: Yep. I needed another day. Did homework most of the day and waited for my grades. Cleaned the house and got ready for our poker party. Didn’t care about food or exercise. Did sketch out a new training schedule, which I will finalize tomorrow.

1/17/10 – Day 7: I blew off training again today. I worked all day. Next week will be better. It has to be. I’ve got plans and ideas!

January 19, 2010 - Posted by | triathlon, Weight Loss | , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Hey! So, I just read a few of your posts and I am with ya! We have quite a few similar issues so I feel your pain!

    One thing I do want to say right away tho is about the govt public service loan repayment plans – have you thought about getting one for your living expenses? I kno, NO ONE wants to worry about how to pay them back but it really is a great plan!! I spoke with the counselor at my school (I’m a 1L in Chicago) and she said for example if I work as a public defender and make 30k, with 120k in loans, my payment could be reduced to as much as $250/mo instead of what it would normally be at around $1100/mo!!! And, the BEST part – after 10 yrs, the rest is forgiven – which in this scenario (with average raises each year) I would be able to have almost $79k forgiven!!! Insane!!

    I didnt really know what kind of lawyer I wanted to do, but I am now going to find something that counts toward this!! SOO many careers do! And, they said even if I went bigfirm law and made 100k, any pro bono work I did would count and they would just lower my payments a little (like to maybe $800/mo or so) – but I STILL would have saved about 50k after the 10 yrs!

    All I’m saying is this – we women just have to forge ahead even when it gets tough and do whatever we have to do to make it!

    My soon to be ex husband HATED my desire to get an education and it wasnt until I was 34 that I realized loans could even be taken out for expenses!!! He refused to pay for childcare if I went to school so after I found out about the loans, I just did it on my own and have been using them for school and expenses ever sense! I will graduate with well over 120k in loans but I feel it is worth it because I am no longer going to be trapped by an abusive ASS (emotionally, not physically). For years I have wanted to leave but never felt I could afford to take care of my kids on my own. My husband makes well over $150k but hoards it like it’s all his. He used it as a way to keep me down. When I decided to go to school, that was the beginning of the end of our marriage. THANK GOD I found out about this loan repayment thing because I was thinking I was going to have to be a gunner in hopes of big law! Now, at least I can decide for myself what is best for me and my kids!

    Please hang in there and know there are lots of people out there struggling – hopefully just knowing you are not alone will get you thru the hard times.

    I used to have an IBSC but an amazing thing happened – I worked days and went to school days and nights for 6 yrs trying to get my BA – all the while my husband tried to sabotage me along the way. When I finally did graduate, he NEVER said he was proud of me or nothing – he just said, well I hope you got what you want. Now Ive been talking about wanting to be a lawyer for YEARS but clearly he didn’t believe me because when I told him I was going in 8/09, he LOST IT!!! Seeing him not be happy, and in fact angry and belittling me – saying I could never do it, gave me a lift! It is funny – suddenly, I was like fuck you – I will do this in spite of you!!! And weird thing is – it is working! We are in the process of getting a separation now, but last semester he tried his best to break me down – never wanted to help me or listen to me bitch so the more he did that, the stronger I became. Suddenly, I could no longer hear my IBSC! It was empowering! I started going back to the gym, signed up for my first race ever (a 10mi along Lake Michigan in May, 2010), and just kept on going. When my grades came in lower than I expected and I was DEVASTATED, my IBSC came back, and he could have cared less! That was the best thing that could have happened to me because it immediately renergized me and my confidence returned cause I knew I needed to get the fuck away from him!

    So, long story short – look into the loans – it could give you some peace of mind, hang in there, and I wish you all the best!!
    |
    Angie (angelageitner on twitter)

    Comment by At Last | February 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

