Beki's Blog

My life and the journey to self-awareness

What a difference a week makes!

I lost 2.2 lbs this week!!!!

This has been a fantastic week for me for more reasons that just the weight I lost!  I found a new app for food and exercise tracking that I like better than Daily Burn.  It’s called My Fitness Pal.  It actually shows your net daily calories.  Daily Burn doesn’t do that.  So I switched.  I also found that I can wear my ActiTrainer again because the website switched back to offering a free level of looking at your data.  I sooo would rather have a Gruve!  But I will use what I have, until I can afford to replace it.

On Wednesday, Shrinking Jeans started their Spring Fling challenge.  I was put on a team with 5 other amazing women, and we are G4 – Groovy Girls Gettin’ Goin’!  Also, the next Shrinking Jeans fitness challenge started on March 1st.  The fitness challenge is to do Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred from March 1st to March 30th.  I definitely wanted in on this!  I had done the 30 day shred video one time just over a year ago.  I couldn’t move for 3 days!  So, I decided to get a little head start and I did the video on Thursday and again on Saturday.  I have to say, I’m in MUCH better shape now!  I was a bit sore, but NOTHING like the first time! 

Saturday morning, Daniel took some pre-shred pictures of me and on Monday morning I weighed myself & took my measurements.  The fact that my weight hadn’t gone down AT ALL since my Wednesday weigh-in had me crying (literally, yes I shed tears of frustration).  I saw that other women at Shrinking Jeans were posting their before pictures, so I decided I would be brave and do that too.  (https://bekkib73.wordpress.com/2010/03/01/30-day-shred-pre-shredded-pix/)  Let me tell you, I feel 100% better after seeing my pictures side by side!  No more being sooo hard on myself!

Tuesday I finished my 2nd day of the shred challenge and Daniel has shredded with me every time too!  (Although, in my opinion, he is already totally shredded and drop dead sexy.)  It was raining when I took Hudson to school and I was a bit sad that I may have to run my 3 miles on the treadmill.  The sun came out though and I got to run outside!  Today (Wednesday) is officially a rest day for me, but I got in day 3 of shredding before I went to my intern job.

After running 6 miles on Saturday and cycling for almost 25 miles on Sunday, I came to realize why triathlon training programs have the next day be a day of rest.  So I’ve tweaked my weekly workout schedule again.  Here it is:

  • Monday:  Off
  • Tuesday: Swim – Run
  • Wednesday: Off
  • Thursday: Swim – Bike
  • Friday: Bike – Run
  • Saturday:  Long run
  • Sunday:  Long bike

Here are my weekly confessions:

  • On Friday I ate 2400 calories (twice what I should be eating).  This included a beer, a HUGE Milky Way bar and a HUGE box of Junior Mints.  Ooopsie!  However, note that I journal-ed all the food I ate – good and bad!  Yay me!

 Weigh-in

  • Wednesday 2/24/10 weight                144.6
  • Wednesday 3/3/10 weight                  142.4
  • Loss of                                         2.2 lbs!!!!

 

Weekly calorie detail:

  Calories      
  Eaten Burned Net Goal Difference
Wednesday      1,416           98       1,318       1,200         118
Thursday      1,650         900         750       1,200        (450)
Friday      2,408              0       2,408       1,200      1,208
Saturday      1,880         893         987       1,200        (213)
Sunday      1,928         926       1,002       1,200        (198)
Monday      1,382         196       1,186       1,200          (14)
Tuesday      1,694         778         916       1,200        (284)
           
Totals     12,358      3,791       8,567       8,400         167

 Average per day for the week = 1224

 Workout detail:

  Calories burned Activity Time
Wednesday 98 Wii Hula Hoop & Rhythm boxing 16 minutes
Thursday 900 30 Day Shred / 1 hr swim class / 3 mile run 1 hour and 55 minutes
Friday 0 Day of Rest!!!  
Saturday 893 30 Day Shred / 6 mile run 1 hour 35 minutes
Sunday 926 24.25 mile bike ride 1 hour 45 minutes
Monday 196 30 Day Shred 25 minutes
Tuesday 778 30 Day Shred / .53 mile swim / 3.35 mile run 1 hour 30 minutes
March 3, 2010 - Posted by | Me, Shrinking Jeans, triathlon, Weight Loss | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Woohoo!! Great job, Beki! And holy hell on your progress pics. You look amazing!

    Comment by Thea @ Im A Drama Mama | March 3, 2010 | Reply

  2. i misread your chart at first and was about to give you a friendly lecture about calories – but i see that you’re talking about net calories. i just had visions of you in the corner nibbling away on only 700 calories a day and was worried. you’ve got it down though and its working great for you!! 🙂

    Comment by Brooke | March 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

