Beki's Blog

My life and the journey to self-awareness

Confused – but not defeated!

I gained 1.4 lbs this week… 😦

This week has been difficult for me in non-weight loss related ways.  I’m feeling overwhelmed with my school schedule, the rental house we live in is having issues and issues with my 18 year old daughter.  I am guessing that the stress has gotten to me, and that is the reason for the gain this week.  I can’t think of any other reason.  I stayed within my calories and I exercised… 

I’ve been told that sometimes you need to play with your caloric intake to find the right level.  Well last week I had a daily net goal of 1200 and my actual average was 1224 and I lost 2.2 lbs.  This week I decided to make my daily net goal be 1225.  My actual average was 1214 and I GAINED!  WTF?  and ARGH!!!  So this week I will set my goal back to 1200 and see what happens…

I’ve been shredding with the Sisterhood (www.shrinkingjeans.net) for 10 days now!  I did 5 days of level 1, and just wrapped up 5 days of level 2.  I’m starting level 3 tomorrow and for 5 days, then repeating the levels again.  I will get these 30 days shredded!  It might sound weird, but I look forward to shredding first thing in the morning with Daniel.  He’s shredded all but 2 days with me. 

I have felt stressed and not quite as feel good as last week, but I didn’t miss any of my workouts.  I ran 7 miles on Saturday, which is the longest distance I’ve ever run!  I was pretty wiped out for the remainder of the day.  I found a half marathon training schedule that includes recovery weeks, so next week’s run will be 5 miles.

Sunday the weather was absolutely gorgeous!  We went on a 23.79 mile bike ride.  I’m learning my bike, how to properly use my gears and the hills will NOT beat me!  My average speed this ride was 14.36mph – which is faster than my previous ride’s averages!  Yay me!

Today when I swam, I increased my time in the pool by 5 minutes – for a total of 35 minutes.  I did 22 laps!  I am still not very fast, but I am taking fewer and fewer breaks AND the breaks are getting shorter and shorter!  I am noticing progress!

The shredding has been good for me also because it’s getting in the strength training I’ve needed to be doing.  I am getting stronger and leaner!

Here are my confessions of what I’ve done right this week:

  • We are having bizarre electrical issues in our house.  They started Friday night and as I write this, have STILL not been fixed.  We’ve had to eat out a couple times, as our oven and microwave are not working due to these electrical issues.  It’s been challenging, to say the least.  What I’ve done right:  I haven’t had fast food and I thought about what I was ordering and stayed within my calorie target!
  • With all the stress and feelings of being overwhelmed, I did not succumb to emotional eating!
  • I shredded every day!
  • I completed my training for the week!
  • I journalled all my food and exercise

 

Weigh-in

  • Wednesday 3/3/10 weight                  142.4
  • Wednesday 3/10/10 weight                143.8
  • Gain of                                                         1.4 lbs    

 

Weekly calorie detail:

  Eaten Burned Net Goal Difference
Wednesday      1,462         192       1,270       1,225           45
Thursday      1,969         738       1,231       1,225             6
Friday      1,922         731       1,191       1,225          (34)
Saturday      2,118         960       1,158       1,225          (67)
Sunday      2,408      1,257       1,151       1,225          (74)
Monday      2,181         192       1,989       1,225         764
Tuesday      1,320         796         524       1,225        (701)
           
Totals     13,380      4,866       8,514       8,575          (61)

 

Average per day for the week = 1216 
Workout detail:

  Calories burned Activity Time
Wednesday 192 30 Day Shred 25 minutes
Thursday 738 30 Day Shred, Swim, Bike 1 hour 25 minutes
Friday 731 30 Day Shred, Elliptical, Run 1 hour 24 minutes
Saturday 960 30 Day Shred, 7 mile run 1 hour 44 minutes
Sunday 1257 30 Day Shred, 23.79 mile bike 2 hours 4 minutes
Monday 192 30 Day Shred 25 minutes
Tuesday 796 30 Day Shred, Swim, Run 1 hour 32 minutes
March 10, 2010 - Posted by | Me, Shrinking Jeans, triathlon, Weight Loss | , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Stress can totally cause you to hold onto/gain weight. I’ve been super stressed lately too and I know that’s affecting my weight loss. Here’s to a better week!! :o)

    Comment by April | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  2. YOU ARE AMAZING!!!! Truly amazing and inspiring. I love looking at your charts and reading about how your week went. I’m sorry the scales didn’t reflect all the hard work you did this week, girl, but don’t worry, they will!!

    Keep up the good work 🙂 and have a GREAT week!

    Comment by Christy M. | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  3. I love your charts! Just what this type A chick needs! Way to go with the things you did well – any week of not succumbing to emotional eating is a win! It is really amazing how stress can affect the body. Hang in there and have a great week next week!

    Comment by Tiffany | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  4. you are doing great with all the exercise! if i’m doing math properly (which is hit or miss with me :P) it sounds like you are swimming circles around me!! i do 10 laps (500m) in 20 minutes.

    sorry about the gain. i know its frustrating. just keep pushing and doing all the things right that you are and something will break free. it very well could be the stress, or else your body just being a little stubborn.

    Comment by Brooke | March 11, 2010 | Reply

  5. Dude. You are a rockstar with all these charts and stuff, AMAZING!! Sure I saw a gain, but there were VICTORIES ALL OVER THE PLACE IN YOUR POST!!! Victory victory victory! Sure, stress can do it, and also the work might not show by Wednesday when you want it to, but it’s all there and in the bank! You’re my superhero girl!! You truly do keep me going by sharing your training with us!!! xo

    Comment by christieo | March 11, 2010 | Reply

  6. Stress is a killer!! But you are handling it very well! Keep up the good work and the numbers will keep coming down. Sometimes we just have whacky mixed up weeks!! You are doing AWESOME!! Wow!! You are really kicking it with those shreds!! So proud of you!

    Comment by Ann G | March 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

