Beki's Blog

My life and the journey to self-awareness

The facts don’t lie

I am starting to get really discouraged.  I know I’m doing great with my training, however, I don’t feel like I’m seeing the change in my weight and/or body that I should be feeling after 3 solid months of training.   Here’s the facts:

Weight:

December 31, 2009    147.4

March 17, 2010          142.4

Total loss in 2 ½ months = 5 pounds

My total weight loss since November 2, 2009 is:  15.4 pounds

As of March 1, 2010, I’ve lost 2 inches from my waistline (since 12/31/09), a half inch off my hips and 1 inch off my thighs (I usually only measure my right thigh, not sure why, but I do). 

I’ve logged the following mileage / time on Runkeeper (I sure wish there was an easier way to get this information in my blog…)

  January February March (thru 22nd)
Swimming 2.4 m / 2 hours 3 m 4.1 m / 5 hours 49 m 2.9 m / 2 hours 36 m
Biking 62.2 m /  4 hours 19 m 67.0 m / 10 hours 54 m 63.3 m /4 hours 29 m
Running 38.2 m / 7 hours 16 m 24.8 m / 4 hours 25 m 22.4 m / 4 hours 12 m
Elliptical     33.6 m / 2 hours 34 m
Other   9.4 m /1 hour 32 m 2.4 m /  43 min
Total: 102.8 m / 13 hours 38 m 105.3 m / 23 hours 40 m 124.6 m / 14 hours 34 m

 

This is not even including the 22 straight days of shredding I’ve completed.  I am referring to the Jillian Michaels workout DVD called the 30 day shred.  I’ve got 8 days left to complete 30 days in a row.  I keep hearing other people shredding at Shrinking Jeans post about how their clothes are fitting better.  That isn’t happening to me. 

I’ve been tracking my calories for a solid month now and really expected to see a more significant difference and staying within a healthy net calorie target.

So what’s really wrong here? 

  • Summary of my argument:  I am disappointed that I’m not seeing results. 
  • Conclusion of the facts:  There is progress. 

So all that is really wrong is that my progress is there, just slower than I want.  Well we don’t always get what we want when we want it, now do we?  It’s so hard to stop focusing on the number on the scale, when historically that was the only number that evidenced success or failure.  Now, I need to focus on successfully completing my triathlon training program each week and getting myself mentally and physically prepared for the ½ ironman I’m signed up for at the end of July 2010.

My next big goal after finals are over (April 21st is my last final!), is to clean up my diet and get on a program that gives me the nutrients I need.  I am usually not getting enough protein every day, nor am I eating nearly enough fruits or vegetables.  I mostly keep the fat grams within the low fat range, but I know that there are eating programs for athletes.

Okay, that was really weird to write.  I just referred to myself as an athlete.  I don’t know why I have a hard time with calling myself that.  Maybe it was because I have never been an athlete, nor considered myself one.  But now I believe I am getting there and I need to be properly fueling my body.

I still wish I was seeing faster progress, but I will try and be satisfied with the shrinking that is occurring.  It is definitely harder to tell myself that there’s been no progress when I’ve been documenting my journey so well and facts don’t lie.  So, I will continue to document my progress and struggles, so that I can’t try and tell myself things that aren’t true.  I will continue to share my journey so that I don’t feel alone.  Hopefully along the way, as I share what I’ve learned, I can help others.

March 23, 2010 - Posted by | Me, Weight Loss | ,

2 Comments »

  1. Beki,
    Slow progress is always the best…it stays off. Every body is different and you can’t compare your results with someone else. You are building muscle from your training so maybe looking at the scale isn’t a good idea. I know if I weighed 140 lbs I would be thrilled. That is a good weight for me. I am 20 lbs heavier than that right now!
    Increasing your protein, your fruits, vegies and whole grain will make a difference for sure. Healthy diet is the key to the shred for sure. Keep up the amazing work that you are doing! I am so proud of your accomplishments and how hard you working at this. I am sure you are feeling big results on how good you feel, your energy levels and outlook on life. Remember those things as you press on in your goal. You are doing great girl!

    Rhonda

    Comment by Rhonda | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. Keep up the hard work, don’t lose your motivation. I often feel the same way as you, but you just gotta keep going and work harder! It takes time, and it sucks when you hit a plateau!

    Comment by It's A Great Day To Be Alive | March 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

