Beki's Blog

My life and the journey to self-awareness

Up but definitely not out!

I gained .4 lbs this week.  Grrrr.  However, I was surprised by an early arrival of my monthly “visitor,” so we’ll just chalk the gain up to that!  Man it’s “fun” being a chick!

I’ve shredded for 23 days in a row!  Only 7 days left!  (I haven’t shredded yet today, but I will!  I’m too close to the end to give up now!)  I’m sooo ready for this challenge to be over!

I need to start paying attention to the types of foods I’m eating.  I’ve really only been focusing on the calorie aspect of my eating.  Baby steps, I know.  I did Weight Watchers for so long and on that program there is only one number every day that you really need to worry about and that is POINTS.  So now, I need to think about fat grams, protein, carbs and fiber.  I also need to probably cut some of the sugars out too.  Since I am currently ramping up for my 3rd year finals (Community Property, Trusts and Constitutional Law – yikes), I am going to wait until after exams to really start getting this dialed in.

I didn’t get in all my training workouts, as my knee was still aching at the beginning of the week.  However, I did a spin class on Thursday and ran 5.7 miles on Saturday!  I am pretty sure that this coming weekend, my man and I will be completing a practice sprint triathlon.  I really, really need to get more bike-run workouts in…

I decided to do something new.  I am going to start making 3 achievable weekly goals and start including in my weekly updates whether I met them.

I can’t believe it’s been 5 weeks since I found The Sisterhood!  My goodness, these women I’ve never met in person have really helped motivate me and get me focused!  I feel so fortunate to have found this group!  They are currently raising money for cancer research and could use donations to reach their goal of raising $50K.  They are also giving away some amazing prizes!  Check it out!  Also, I will be participating in the Relay for Life in September and they have got me thinking about what I might be able to do individually, or with my team to help get us some publicity and raise money.  If anyone has any ideas, I’m all ears!  I’m also going to be cutting and donating my hair to Locks of Love in September.  My hair is currently at the middle of my back, so cutting it is scary, but it’s for SUCH a good cause (and my hair will grow back)!

Team Shrinking Jeans Bash

Highlights of my week:

  • Well, my super terrific boyfriend (who can’t pass up a sale) brought home cinnamon rolls.  “They were only $1.50 for the package of 6, I practically HAD to buy them!”  It’s a good thing I love him so much!  However, I don’t have that much will power when it comes to those super yummy tasty bites of heaven…  I ate 2, but I weighed them (approx 6 ounces total for both of them) and recorded them.  They are gone now – thank goodness for that!
  • I stayed within my daily calorie target for the week however I made awful choices
    • Fat grams – I was over target 6 out of 7 days (2 of those days were WAY over)
    • Protein – I only hit my protein target on 3 days
    • Carbs – over every day – this is standard operating procedure for me though…
    • Fiber – I only ate 25 grams or more 2 days
  • Total time of working out (training, shredding) this week = 8 hours and 35 minutes

Goals for the upcoming week:

  1. Drink 64 oz water each day
  2. Finish shredding challenge on 3/30
  3. Stay under fat grams target at least 5 days 

 

Weigh-in

  • Wednesday 3/17/10 weight                                142.4
  • Wednesday 3/24/10 weight                                142.8
  • Gain of                                                           0.4 lbs  

 

Weekly calorie detail:

  Eaten Burned Net Goal Difference
Wednesday      1,547         194       1,353       1,300           53
Thursday      2,060         924       1,136       1,300        (164)
Friday      2,167         386       1,781       1,300         481
Saturday      2,368      1,005       1,363       1,300           63
Sunday      1,501         501       1,000       1,300        (300)
Monday      1,523         192       1,331       1,300           31
Tuesday      1,670         831         839       1,300        (461)
           
Totals     12,836      4,033       8,803       9,100        (297)

 

Average per day for the week = 1258
Workout detail:

  Calories burned Activity Time
Wednesday 194 30 Day Shred / Day of Rest 25 minutes
Thursday 924 30 Day Shred / Weights / Spin Class / Walk with Dog 2 hours
Friday 386 30 Day Shred / Walking 1 hour 10 minutes
Saturday 1005 30 Day Shred / 5.7m run / hiking at the beach 1 hour 58 minutes
Sunday 501 30 Day Shred / elliptical / Wii boxing 1 hour
Monday 192 30 Day Shred / Day of Rest 25 minutes
Tuesday 831 30 Day Shred / Swim / Run 1 hour 35 minutes
March 24, 2010 - Posted by | Me, Shrinking Jeans, triathlon, Weight Loss | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. You are completely kicking ass at your workouts – WOW!!! So proud of you!

    Thanks for the Team shout-out! I will be more than happy to help you come up with ideas for your own fundraising when the time comes!

    Comment by Melissa | March 24, 2010 | Reply

  2. You are kicking tail this challenge! Shredding for 23 days? Only 7 days to go? Awesome! So boo to that monthly visitor! Next week will be awesome for sure!

    Comment by April | March 24, 2010 | Reply

  3. So, so glad you found us! And OMG – shredding for 23 days?! Can’t wait to hear your results. So awesome!

    Comment by Heather Damron | March 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

