Beki's Blog

My life and the journey to self-awareness

Holy heat stroke!

I ran today. Outside. It was a gorgeous, sunny day in beautiful wine country. Perfect for being outside, right? Ummm – not when you are running! It was 71 degrees at 1:45pm today when I headed out for my run. I had to stop just before I reached 3 miles. Partially because I’m still a little congested, but mostly because I am not accustomed to running in these kinds of temperatures. And within 2 hours of running, I’m suffering from a terrible headache. And at 8:30pm – it still isn’t gone.

So this got me thinking… what the hell have I gotten myself into? What am I talking about, you ask? I have signed up for a ½ ironman distance (1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike and 13.1 mile run) triathlon (Barb’s Race) on July 31, 2010. OMG. It’s going to be a million degrees at the end of July! The triathlon waves start at 8:15am. Let’s say I get in the water by 8:45. It will probably take me about an hour to do the swim. I’m on my bike by 9:45ish. 56 miles, let’s just be conservative and say that I average 14mph – so I will be getting off the bike around 2pm-ish. Now I get to run 13.1 miles from about 2pm to 4:30pm-ish – isn’t that the friggin’ hottest time of the day? Awesome. Who let me sign up for this? Seriously.

So in an effort to dispel (to myself) my fears that it will be a million degrees on race day, I went to our local newspaper’s website (Press Democrat). They have a section that gives you the historical data for weather for any given date! Bingo! (You really can find anything on the Internet!) The website showed 80 years of high temps and low temps for July 31st. That’s too many years of information! I arbitrarily decided to play with the data for the 37 years I’ve been on this planet. I’m not sure any of this is making me feel better… (but I know you all love my tables!)

In the last 37 years:

  • Average high temperature = 83 degrees
  • Hottest day = 103 (1977)
  • Coldest day = 69 (1985)

Since July 31, 1973

Max temperature in the

# of times since 7/31/1973

60’s

1

70’s

14

80’s

15

90’s

5

100’s

2

 

So based on this information, there is a 78% chance that the temperature ranges will be in the 70’s to 80’s. But I would like to get some averages on more recent weather. Let’s look at the last 10 years.

In the last 10 years:

  • Average high temperature = 81 degrees
  • Hottest day = 96 (2000)
  • Coldest day = 72 (2009)

Since July 31, 2000

Max temperature in the

# of times since 7/31/2000

60’s

0

70’s

4

80’s

5

90’s

1

100’s

0

 

Again, it really looks like it’s going to be in the 70’s or 80’s for race day. It was only 72 degrees on 7/31 last year! But wait! It was 72 degrees on 7/31/1977 and the next year it was 103! L It was 76 degrees on 7/31/1992 and the next year it was 101! L
L It was 70 degrees in 1999 and the next year it was 96! L
L
L

I could be screwed. It could be the hottest day ever. The last time it was in the 90’s on 7/31 was ten years ago, so we are due. Or we aren’t. I don’t know.

What I do know is that I had difficulty running today in 71 degree temps. That’s not good. I am going to need to do research on training in warmer weather, aside from the blatantly obvious keeping hydrated. Anyone have any training tips to share with me?

April 7, 2010 - Posted by | triathlon | ,

1 Comment »

  1. Hi

    You are doing great. Just remember, you will have many days of heat between now and July 31 you are just going to have to take it one step at a time and work your way into being able to handle the heat. I have a hard time dealing with the heat and I am not even trying to run LOL!!! Make sure you drink lots of water. You will look back on this day and wonder why you were so worried because it will be a piece of cake real soon.

    Comment by Laveda | April 7, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

