Beki's Blog

My life and the journey to self-awareness

Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

So, I just made the yummiest turkey chili yesterday! Since I had never made chili before, I only made 4 servings, and boy am I sorry about that now! I will be making this again! It’s super easy to make!

Here’s what you need:

  • 1.25 lbs ground turkey breast (the very lean kind)
  • ½ yellow onion diced
  • 16 oz can of pinto beans (rinsed)
  • 2 – 14.5oz cans of Italian style diced tomatoes with juice
  • 1 cup of Chunky Pace Salsa
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • Salt / pepper to taste
  • 1 cup shredded 2% fat cheese

Brown the ground turkey with the chopped onion. Drain (if needed). Rinse off the pinto beans. Put everything except the cheese in the slow cooker. Cook on low for about 5 hours.

Top with cheese (1/4 cup per serving).

Makes 4 servings.

Nutritional information per serving:

Calories

373

Sodium

2124 mg

Total Fat

7 g

Potassium

271 mg

Saturated

4 g

Total Carbs

29 g

Polyunsaturated

0 g

Dietary Fiber

10 g

Monounsaturated

0 g

Sugars

11 g

Trans

0 g

Protein

47 g

Cholesterol

71 mg

  

  

       

Vitamin A

31%

Calcium

47%

Vitamin C

37%

Iron

17%

 

A note on the sodium: I took the nutritional info off the can. However I believe that because I rinsed off the beans, the actual sodium is much lower. I think. No guarantees.

I do love chili, however, I’m not a fan of spicy, sweating whilst I eat chili. My knight is though and he added some hot sauce to his bowl. I think if you add more chili powder it will add to the spice factor, if that’s your thing. The taste of this chili is fabulous in my opinion!

Enjoy!

April 7, 2010 - Posted by | Recipe | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

