Beki's Blog

My life and the journey to self-awareness

Finally under the average!

But, let’s be clear – I’m definitely not a below average woman!

I am so excited to be back in the 130’s! I lost 4.6 lbs this week (I swear I ate, I don’t know what I did differently)! My weight is 138.0!! Even though I’m so excited about this loss, this has been a very rough, emotional, stressful and all around shitty week.

  • Starting weight:            144.6
  • Last week’s weight:            142.6
  • This week’s weight:            138.0
  • Loss for the week:            – 4.6 lbs
  • Total loss for the challenge:        6.6 lbs
  • Total lost since 11/1/09:        19.8 lbs!

Let’s get the icky out of the way:

  • I am in the midst of law school finals. Super stressful. I don’t even know what I could compare it to. Seriously unlike anything I’ve ever experienced before.
  • Monday was my Community Property exam. I studied hard. I looked at every past exam that was offered through the school written by my professor. I am quite confident I bombed the final and will be retaking the class this summer. I would be soo happy with a minimally passing grade at this point.
  • The stress is affecting my mood. Which affects lots of other things. L This much stress doesn’t look good on me…
  • Sunday we tried to do an open water swim. We have our first sprint triathlon this coming weekend, so we thought we would go to our local lake and do a practice swim. Oh boy. Well, for starters it was very cold outside and raining (pretty hard, too). So we got our wetsuits on and got in the (holy crap it was the coldest) water. We swam maybe 25 yards and got right back out. I panicked and completely lost all memory of any swimming technique. Not good. Very bad for confidence level for (impending, I mean) upcoming sprint triathlon.
  • Friday was a definite emotional eating day. I ate:
    • Carl’s Jr. for lunch
    • Pizza, salad and beer for dinner
    • Ice cream sundae for dessert
    • I ate waaaay after my 9pm self imposed cut off…
    • I didn’t do any exercise (unless you count the walking that I did to the kitchen to get my food. Wait, shit, my knight and my son brought me the food…)

So, crappy law school finals aside, I had a good week in regards to my eating and working out.

  • I tracked my food 6 out of 7 days. (And the one day I didn’t track was really, really bad…)
  • My average (tracked) daily net calories for the week was 1,277
  • My (tracked) nutrients were:
    • Fat 28% (goal is to be under 30%)
    • Carbs 46% (goal is to be under 46%)
    • Protein 23% (goal is to be at or over 25%)
  • I worked out 6 days
     

    Calories burned

    Activity

    Time

    Wednesday

    420

    2.73m run / 1.36m walk

    47:05

    Thursday

    203

    .51 mile swim

    27:19

    Friday

     

    Nothing

     

    Saturday

    356

    Swim / 9.69m Bike

    58:18

    Sunday

    415

    5m run

    1 hr 13 minutes

    Monday

    291

    Elliptical

    30 minutes

    Tuesday

    373

    4m run

    55 minutes

     

I also found a new triathlon training program, which I am very excited about! It is a program for the ½ ironman that I am training for. The program is 18 weeks of training, which the exact number of weeks until my ½ ironman triathlon! The first few weeks are about time and keeping the heart rate in the lower zone. The program is by Triathlon Geek. (What a perfect name, since I’m a total geek! J)

So, what’s with the below average, anyway? I’ve been struggling with my weight for about 10 years. I’ve got recorded weights that date back to 2001. (And yes, they are all in a spreadsheet – see, told you I’m a geek. There’s even charts and formulas. I wish I could share them!) My average weight going all the way back to 2001 is 142.7. I’m less than that now! Woohoooo!

Goals for the upcoming week:

  1. Finish sprint triathlon 4/18/10
  2. Finish 3rd year law school finals (2 more to go!)
  3. Be kind to my loved ones. They love me and support me. I know that. I need to remember to show it.
April 14, 2010 - Posted by | Law School, Me, Shrinking Jeans, triathlon, Weight Loss | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. wow – kick ass on the weight loss!!! 🙂

    good luck this weekend at the triathlon – we expect a full race report!

    Comment by Brooke | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  2. I LOVE your geeky spreadsheetedness!!!!! Congrats on the awesome loss!!!! the 130’s HURRAH!!!! You’re awesome girl, you’re going to do awesome on Saturday. We did the same thing, I told you, we ran into the water and back out, but you’ll be fine! just remember, slow and steady, just try to keep moving. email me if you need a quick picker upper!!! congrats! and oh, i need a 1/2 ironman plan!! was it a free one? can you send me the link????? i’m doing a half iron in november!! twins! good luck this weekend!!!

    Comment by christieo | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  3. WoOHOO!!! Amazing this week!!

    Comment by Thea @ Im A Drama Mama | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  4. Congrats! You are doing great, just remember 80-20. Eat great 80% of the time and the other 20 you can ease up. Just keep exercising, which is exactly what you are doing!

    Comment by Renee | April 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

