Beki's Blog

My life and the journey to self-awareness

Fundraising for The Human Race


I am fundraising for a wonderful non-profit organization. Blood Bank of the Redwoods is a local blood bank that supports our community as well as hospitals across the nation. I had the privilege of working there for 5 years before deciding to pursue my legal career.

The first time I ran in the Human Race, I was working at the Blood Bank, so I naturally fundraised for them. The first time I ran in the Human Race, was the first time I participated in an organized run. I ran the 3K (1.8 miles) and remember I was just exhausted after. That was in 2005. Now, I’ve ran three 5Ks and just finished a sprint triathlon. It’s time for me to run my first 10K (6.2 miles). I can think of no better race to run my first 10K.

One of the reasons I am still fundraising for the Blood Bank of the Redwoods (I stopped working there in 2006), is that my daughter received 2 pints of lifesaving blood after being in a very serious car accident. (She is fully recovered now!) The Blood Bank is a very important non-profit organization to our community.

Please take a minute and help me reach my fundraising goal by donating here: Beki’s donation page

Your support is appreciated!

Thanks!

April 28, 2010 - Posted by | Me | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

