Beki's Blog

My life and the journey to self-awareness

Reaching New Heights

This weekend, my knight and I drove to Yosemite National Park. (Well, he drove and I navigated.)

We planned on leaving after he got off work, and it’s about a four hour drive. I’ve been struggling with some pretty difficult demons from my past (so I’m on edge and very emotional, and this will be the subject of a soon to be posted blog), and he was feeling stressed about leaving after having worked all day, so the trip got off to a tense start. But he has an amazing calming effect, and ultimately we work really well together, so the tension passed and we were on our way! We finally got on the road around 8:30, with the Jeep jammed packed! We got into Yosemite around 1:00am. We weren’t really sure which camp site our group of friends was in, so we slept in the car. Or rather, I slept and my knight tossed and turned. It was cooold!

In the morning, we found our group and set up camp. We ate some breakfast and then we were off to hike to the top of Yosemite Falls. Our campsite was about ½ hour drive from the valley, so we got to see the amazement and beauty that is Yosemite.

I haven’t been to Yosemite in at least 15 years, so this first look at the valley just took my breath away.

We drove through the valley and got our first look at Yosemite Falls .

We are hiking to the top of this? Ummm… did I mention my crippling fear of heights?

Me – before we began our hike. That is Yosemite Falls in the background.

Here we go! Up the mountain!

What a beautiful view of Half Dome. We were about ½ up the mountain when I got this picture.

I had so much fun taking pictures. Another beautiful shot of Half Dome. This one was taken on my iPhone with the Hipstamatic app.

We made it to the top! It took 3 hours and 19 minutes and was about 4 miles from the base of the falls to the top. We probably could have gotten to the top faster, but there was no way I would have sacrificed the ability to enjoy myself and the beautiful setting for a faster time. Sometimes a fast pace isn’t the most important thing. This was definitely one of those times!

While everyone else took a closer look at the ledge (there was NO way in the world I was taking closer look), this squirrel decided to come and take a closer look at me. I did not feed him, in fact I told him (quite emphatically) that I had nothing for him! But he was cute and quite photogenic!

We ate lunch at the top of the hill and then the boys decided to play a bit of catch with a football. Nothing like football at the top of Yosemite Falls! After about 45 minutes, we started the hike back down. My legs were so tired. After about an hour, my knees were aching terribly.

It took 2 hours and 23 minutes to get down the mountain. I was exhausted!

Here’s what http://www.nps.gov/yose/planyourvisit/valleyhikes.htm says about the hike to the top of Yosemite Falls:

Difficulty level: strenuous, but difficult in winter due to snow, especially beyond Columbia Rock

Distance: 7.2 miles/11.6 km round-trip; 6 to 8 hours; 2,700 feet/823 m elevation gain

“One of Yosemite oldest historic trails (built 1873 to 1877), the Yosemite Falls Trail leads to the top of North America’s tallest waterfall 2,425 feet (739 m) above the Valley floor. Do not stray off the marked path, as you will find steep drops adjacent to the trail. Enjoy spectacular views from Columbia Rock located one mile (and dozens of switchbacks) from the trailhead.”

Saturday morning we were going to go on another long hike, however, my body rebelled. I was extremely sore from our Yosemite Falls hike. So we decided to take it easy. On our way to Mariposa Woods we stopped to take in one of the most impressive views in all the valley.

From this vantage point you can see El Capitan, Half Dome, the 3 brothers and Bridalveil Falls.

After Mariposa Woods, we walked to the base of Bridalveil Falls. It was WET! As we walked back to the car we felt like we had just gotten off a water ride at Six Flags!

It was a terrific weekend in one of the most beautiful places on earth.

It’s Monday night and I’m still sore from our hike on Friday to the top of Yosemite Falls, but I am so happy I did it! It was a wonderful experience that took me out of my comfortable zone. It is very empowering to conquer a fear and do something that you didn’t think you were capable of. I hiked to the top of Yosemite Falls! No one can ever take that from me!

May 17, 2010 - Posted by | Me | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I am soooo very proud of you. I also have a fear of heights and also would NEVER look over the ledge or edge, Neil would but not me!! Jaycee would —- maybe! I am so glad you had a wonderful time. Maybe someday I will go there again with Neil cuz my 1st experience wasn’t a good one. Love you honey, you are in my prayers and in several others prayers as well. Daniel is truly your knight in shining armor and he makes me proud that he is so good to my little girl!

    Comment by mom | May 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

