Beki's Blog

My life and the journey to self-awareness

Wednesday Weigh-In

I hope everyone had a great Memorial Day weekend! I had a wonderful date with my knight (he took me to see Sex and The City 2!), and we went to 2 parties.

I’m going back to the Wednesday weigh-ins. I just love being able to link up with my girls from the Sisterhood, so I just can’t bring myself to move the day.

Weigh in Stats
Today’s weight: 142.2
Last week’s weight: 142.0
Gain from last week: 0.2
11/1/2009 157.8
Total lost: 15.6 lbs!
Goal weight range: 125-130
Left to lose: 12-17 lbs

Last week, I really, really, really wanted to get back on track. I did great on Thursday and Friday. Saturday was the first of 2 parties for the holiday weekend. This party had an open taco truck. Think open bar, but with super yummy Mexican food. Man, oh man! There were also cupcakes from Costco. I don’t know if any of you has seen one of those, but one cupcake is like the size of my head! So, needless to say, I did not resist the temptations. The next day’s party wasn’t much better. The beer was flowing and I was drinking it!

Overall, May was not a great month for me. I’ve been in a funk. My back pain flared up and sidelined me for about a week. Just when that got better, my TMJD decided to get in on the action. Seriously. I think that was when I really realized that stress can do incredibly bad things to your body. Beki needs to relax and let go of things out of her control! (sorry, that felt like a 3rd person POV moment.)

May wasn’t a total failure. I ran my first 10K in 1:01:30! I hiked to the top of Yosemite Falls!

I didn’t exercise or eat healthily like I should have in May. I use Runkeeper to track my cardio (it’s not just for running anymore). I love, love, love this app! I’ve reached 100 miles of tracked activities each month in 2010, except in May. L I did, however, manage to track just over 60 miles for the month. That makes 6 straight months of 50 miles or more tracked on Runkeeper! Yay me!

June is going to be different. Because I say so! It’s been established that I stick to my exercise routine when I have goals. Set goals. With deadlines. I have signed up for a relay in 3 weeks. Two person teams (my knight is on my team) – each team member runs a 5K! I’m running a 10K on the 4th of July. I’m signing up for 2 half marathons, one at the end of August and the other in October. I love running, so let’s get this going!

I also rejoined Weight Watchers. Exactly 7 months after I began this (current and final) weight loss journey, it’s come full circle, back to Weight Watchers. It’s a great program, I’ve never felt anything otherwise. I got to lifetime once before, I can (and will) do it again – this time I will stay there!

So I guess it’s time to find a half marathon training schedule and get down to business!

Monday (barring injuries or whatever) I’m going to start my new Jillian Michaels: The Biggest Winner challenge. 6 weeks. Strength training. I need it. I’m tired of being so squishy. It’s been a goal of mine to lower my body fat percentage. Next week, I will take measurements and record a starting body fat percentage. That is the goal of my 6 week challenge: lower my body fat percentage.

Does anyone have recommendations for ½ marathon training programs?

June 2, 2010 - Posted by | Fitness Challenge, Me, Shrinking Jeans, Weight Loss | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. It sounds like you are doing well, way to go on the mileage! I have the run keeper app but started using c25k instead for the audio cues. Now that I’ve finished that program i might go bak to run keeper. I run another 5k on Saturday and will likely do a 10 k in July. I’m also signing up for a half marathon – destination marathons!

    Comment by Renee | June 3, 2010 | Reply

    • That’s great! I used the c25k program, but it was in the time before iPhones and apps (gasp!) I don’t know if you know this, but Runkeeper can be set up with training cues. It is such a superior running coach! I don’t use the training cues, but I do use the target pace feature now, which is also one of the newer features.

      Congrats on committing to running longer distances! Destination marathons? Sounds fun! Where are some of the destinations?

      Comment by bekkib73 | June 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

