Beki's Blog

My life and the journey to self-awareness

Thankful Thursday

I’ve decided to start blogging more often. I frequently tell people that I have a blog and that I’m so grateful to have it as an outlet. It’s still a baby blog, but hopefully as I grow in self discovery, so will my blog. I’ve even got a website Wild Child Gone Good I just need to figure out how to keep the theme I’ve created and move my blog over. (If anyone out there knows how to do that, we could talk ad space on my blog in exchange for creating the theme.)

This has been a pretty interesting week. I’ve decided to do everything in my power to stop focusing on what has gone wrong. Let’s focus on what was beautiful about the week and what went right! I guarantee each and every one of you – no matter how bad it seems, there is always something good in there, you have to find it and focus on that!

Here’s what I’m thankful for:

My amazing super terrific future first grader – This is the first week that we are on the new summer schedule. He is home with me on Tuesdays and Wednesdays and at daycare the other 3 days. In an effort to keep him from being completely bored to tears, I decided that we would hunt for the Lucy statues and go to the library on Tuesdays. Wednesdays is going to have to be my moot court brief writing day, so I was trying to minimize some of the stay at home boredom. Tuesday we went to the library. He proceeded to read to me out of a book that I would have never guessed he would have even been able to attempt! I was super impressed! We learned that there is a summer reading program through the county library and he is really excited about that. We found 5 Lucy statues and got pictures. I have to say that my son really surprised me on Wednesday though. I planted myself on the couch in the morning and started working on my brief. I told him that he was going to have to keep himself entertained (I’ve been in law school for 3 years, so he mostly understands this concept, but doesn’t always apply it). And he did. He was on his best behavior! He worked on a Lego sculpture for the county fair, he played with the dog – and I don’t think he turned the TV on once! He’s such an amazing kid! I am so thankful for him!

National Running Day – I’m a runner. I ran my first 10K at the beginning of May. I haven’t really done much running since. (Injuries, funk, excuses.) Every time I logged into twitter on Wednesday there was some tweet about National Running Day. I couldn’t let National Running Day pass by me without running! I hopped on my treadmill and ran a 9:53 second mile! I just ran the one mile, but I think it was just the kick start I needed. Last night I signed my knight and I up for a 5K in three weeks. I also committed to a 4th of July 10K. And this morning, I woke up, put on my running gear and ran 2.75 miles (in 27:26 minutes)!

My knight – every week, every day and every hour that I am with this amazing man is how often I remember how thankful I am to have him in my life. He found out that I was invited at the last minute to my daughter’s wedding. His response: “Do you want me to be there with you baby?” He re-arranged his schedule and was by my side. Simply amazing. I can’t even begin to explain how it feels to be loved and supported by someone so completely. Thank you my knight for being you. I love you.

Getting invited to my daughter’s wedding – This wasn’t the event that you dream of as a mom. Most of the pictures I have for my daughter’s life have needed to be redrawn. That’s okay. The relationship between my daughter and I has been very strained this past year. I try to make sure she knows that no matter what, I love her. On Tuesday she sent me a text that she’s getting married Thursday. I was crushed. Two days notice and not even an invite. I posted a distressed status update on FaceBook and received many supportive comments from my friends. Today at work at 1:15, I got another text from my daughter. “Can you come to the courthouse and be with me when I get married?” While I don’t think she’s making the smartest decision, it doesn’t matter. I wanted to be there for her. And she wanted me to be there too. That was all I needed today. So, today, I watched my 18 year old daughter get married and I am so thankful that she wanted me to be there for her.

June 3, 2010 - Posted by | Me | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

